Project

General

Profile

11282014

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56990 (starting evening of Nov 27, 2014)

Observers

  • Nikolay Kuropatkin (observer1)
  • Chris Smith (observer2)
  • Lucy Clerkin (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Rodrigo Hernandez
  • Claudio Aguilera

Almanac

mjd 56990, date 20141128, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:17 CLST     UT 17:17     SidTim 17:05
Sunset     20:36 CLST  23:36 UT   SidTim  351 deg  
Eve. -10   21:16 CLST  00:16 UT   SidTim    1 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:38 CLST  00:38 UT   SidTim    6 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:01 CLST  01:01 UT   SidTim   12 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:31 CLST  04:31 UT   SidTim   65 deg  
Moonset    01:44 CLST  04:44 UT   SidTim   68 deg  
Morn -18   05:01 CLST  08:01 UT   SidTim  117 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:24 CLST  08:24 UT   SidTim  123 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   SidTim  128 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   SidTim  138 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 333.5, Dec -6.3 Phase: 0.481

Weather Conditions

Complete cloud cover except for some clear patches in the North west in the afternoon.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations
  2. Standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/29 00:16'     Local time = 21:16
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/29 08:24'     Local time = 05:24
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 2.0
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  5. End of night calibration
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json