Project

General

Profile

11272018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58450 (starting the evening of Nov 27, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Sunayana Bhargava (Observer 2)
  • Reese Wilkinson (Run Manager)
  • David Turner (Observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez, Jacqueline Seron, Claudio Aguilera (night assistant)
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58450, date 20181127, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:20 CLST     UT 18:20     SidTim 18:04
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:35 CLST  23:35 UT   23:19  350 deg  
Eve. -10   21:15 CLST  00:15 UT   23:59  360 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   00:21    5 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:00 CLST  01:00 UT   00:44   11 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   00:58 CLST  03:58 UT   03:42   56 deg  
Midpoint   01:31 CLST  04:31 UT   04:15   64 deg  
Morn -18   05:01 CLST  08:01 UT   07:45  116 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:24 CLST  08:24 UT   08:08  122 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   08:31  128 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   09:10  138 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 135.6, Dec 19.0 Phase: 0.618

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/28 00:15'     Local time = 21:15
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/28 08:24'     Local time = 05:24
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 2.0
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.2
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

  • Even more bragging rights

For tonight:

  • OBSTAC
  • 04:00 UT E1,E2 reverb scripts
  • OBSTAC
  • [if seeing is bad*] do reverberation mapping

*This means if the psf is > 1.6 arcsec for several exposures in a row with no sign of improvement. Choose which script to use based on the SN field that is transiting at the time the seeing is bad. Use http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/prednight/ to decide which one.

Priorities (highest to lowest)

  • OBSTAC (bar E1,E2 at 4UT)
  • reverberation mapping programme

Other Notes