Project

General

Profile

11272017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58085 (starting evening of Monday, Nov 27, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Indiarose Friswell (Run manager)
  • Agnès Ferté (Observer 1)
  • Hao-Yi Wu (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Rodriguez Hernández - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58085, date 20171127, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:01 CLST     UT 17:01     SidTim 16:46
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:35 CLST  23:35 UT   23:20  350 deg  
Eve. -10   21:15 CLST  00:15 UT   00:00    0 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   00:22    6 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:01 CLST  01:01 UT   00:46   12 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:31 CLST  04:31 UT   04:16   64 deg  
Moonset    03:08 CLST  06:08 UT   05:53   88 deg  
Morn -18   05:01 CLST  08:01 UT   07:46  116 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:24 CLST  08:24 UT   08:09  122 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   08:31  128 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   09:11  138 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 354.4, Dec -4.9 Phase: 0.604

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: clear all night
  • humidity: ~55%
  • temp: ~12°C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • LDS749B/HST
  • ObsTac
  • AT2017hng
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/11/28 00:15'     Local time = 21:15
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/11/28 08:24'     Local time = 05:24
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 2.0
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-X3 long_z 2017-11-22 00:55:07.060335+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-11-24 01:03:29.219723+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-11-24 02:45:39.980233+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-11-25 01:28:52.786078+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-11-25 01:48:11.664763+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-11-25 02:07:30.239804+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-11-25 02:20:26.780143+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-11-25 02:43:29.196244+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-11-25 04:09:50.758260+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-11-25 04:29:12.114804+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-11-25 04:49:50.830476+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-11-25 05:13:06.373383+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-11-25 06:03:34.987637+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-11-27 05:23:42.663691+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-11-27 05:36:51.654402+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-11-27 07:11:37.019047+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps