Project

General

Profile

11272014

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56989 (starting evening of Nov 27, 2014)

Observers

  • Nikolay Kuropatkin (observer1)
  • Chris Smith (observer2)
  • Lucy Clerkin (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Rodrigo Hernandez
  • Claudio Aguilera

Almanac

mjd 56989, date 20141127, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:37 CLST     UT 18:37     SidTim 18:21
Sunset     20:35 CLST  23:35 UT   SidTim  350 deg  
Eve. -10   21:15 CLST  00:15 UT   SidTim  360 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:37 CLST  00:37 UT   SidTim    5 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   22:00 CLST  01:00 UT   SidTim   11 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    01:01 CLST  04:01 UT   SidTim   56 deg  
Midpoint   01:31 CLST  04:31 UT   SidTim   64 deg  
Morn -18   05:01 CLST  08:01 UT   SidTim  116 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:24 CLST  08:24 UT   SidTim  122 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:46 CLST  08:46 UT   SidTim  128 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   SidTim  138 deg  

Weather Conditions

Clear overhead but clouds on the horizon in the afternoon.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations
  2. Standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/28 00:15'     Local time = 21:15
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/28 08:24'     Local time = 05:24
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 2.0
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  5. End of night calibration
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json