Project

General

Profile

11262018 » History » Version 2

« Previous - Version 2/3 (diff) - Next » - Current version
David Turner, 11/26/2018 12:08 PM


11262018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58449 (starting evening of Nov 26, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Sunayana Bhargava (Run Manager)
  • Reese Wilkinson (observer 2)
  • David Turner (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado, Jacqueline Seron, Claudio Aguilera (night assistant)
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58449, date 20181126, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:03 CLST     UT 18:03     SidTim 17:43
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:34 CLST  23:34 UT   23:14  348 deg  
Eve. -10   21:14 CLST  00:14 UT   23:54  358 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:36 CLST  00:36 UT   00:16    4 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:59 CLST  00:59 UT   00:39   10 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   00:06 CLST  03:06 UT   02:46   42 deg  
Midpoint   01:30 CLST  04:30 UT   04:10   63 deg  
Morn -18   05:01 CLST  08:01 UT   07:41  115 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:24 CLST  08:24 UT   08:05  121 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:47 CLST  08:47 UT   08:27  127 deg  
Sunrise    06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   09:07  137 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 120.4, Dec 21.2 Phase: 0.696

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/27 00:14'     Local time = 21:14
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/27 08:24'     Local time = 05:24
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

*

For tonight:

  • evening standards
  • special script in Stripe 82 that needs to be loaded in as close to 00:25 UT as possible. Interrupt standard stars if necessary. Should take 45 min - 1 hr.
  • run OBSTAC
  • [if seeing is bad*] do reverberation mapping

*This means if the psf is > 1.6 arcsec for several exposures in a row with no sign of improvement. Choose which script to use based on the SN field that is transiting at the time the seeing is bad. Use http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/prednight/ to decide which one.

Priorities (highest to lowest)

  • stripe 82 script as close to 00:25 UT as possible

Other Notes