Project

General

Profile

11252018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58448 (starting evening of Nov 25, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Sunayana Bhargava (Run Manager)
  • Reese Wilkinson (observer 1)
  • David Turner (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado, Jacqueline Seron, Claudio Aguilera (night assistant)
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58448, date 20181125, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:33 CLST     UT 17:33     SidTim 17:09
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:33 CLST  23:33 UT   23:09  347 deg  
Eve. -10   21:13 CLST  00:13 UT   23:49  357 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:35 CLST  00:35 UT   00:11    3 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:58 CLST  00:58 UT   00:34    8 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   23:07 CLST  02:07 UT   01:44   26 deg  
Midpoint   01:30 CLST  04:30 UT   04:06   61 deg  
Morn -18   05:02 CLST  08:02 UT   07:38  114 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:25 CLST  08:25 UT   08:01  120 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:47 CLST  08:47 UT   08:23  126 deg  
Sunrise    06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   09:03  136 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 104.8, Dec 22.2 Phase: 0.775

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/26 00:13'     Local time = 21:13
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/26 08:25'     Local time = 05:25
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

  • looked over data quality for last observing run, which was approximately 8 nights ago. Aside from standard stars, less than 10 are bad, which means we can accept the data quality.
  • Two old exposures are marked as 'false' - these are 794003 and 794443. Exposures taken by YC Chen, with comment added: "heavy clouds"

For tonight:

  • evening standards
  • special script in Stripe 82 that needs to be loaded in as close to 00:25 UT as possible. Interrupt standard stars if necessary. Should take 45 min - 1 hr.
  • run OBSTAC
  • [if seeing is bad*] do reverberation mapping

*This means if the psf is > 1.6 arcsec for several exposures in a row with no sign of improvement. Choose which script to use based on the SN field that is transiting at the time the seeing is bad. Use http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/prednight/ to decide which one.

Priorities (highest to lowest)

  • stripe 82 script as close to 00:25 UT as possible

Other Notes