Project

General

Profile

11252017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58083 (starting evening of Saturday, Nov 25, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Hao-Yi Wu (run manager)
  • Agnès Ferté (observer 1)
  • Indiarose Friswell (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Rodrigo Hernandez

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools

mjd 58083, date 20171125, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:28 CLST     UT 17:28     SidTim 17:05
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:33 CLST  23:33 UT   23:11  348 deg  
Eve. -10   21:13 CLST  00:13 UT   23:50  358 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:35 CLST  00:35 UT   00:12    3 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:58 CLST  00:58 UT   00:36    9 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:30 CLST  04:30 UT   04:07   62 deg  
Moonset    01:55 CLST  04:55 UT   04:32   68 deg  
Morn -18   05:02 CLST  08:02 UT   07:39  115 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:25 CLST  08:25 UT   08:02  120 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:47 CLST  08:47 UT   08:24  126 deg  
Sunrise    06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   09:04  136 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 329.8, Dec -12.5 Phase: 0.478

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: Clear all night
  • humidity: ~50%
  • Temp: ~10°C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • LDS749B/HST
  • ObsTac
  • Morning standards (grizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

  • Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/11/26 00:13'     Local time = 21:13
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/11/26 08:25'     Local time = 05:25
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.9
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-X3 long_z 2017-11-22 00:55:07.060335+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-11-22 02:03:36.974902+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-11-22 03:11:00.489931+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-11-22 03:37:28.945918+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-11-24 01:03:29.219723+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-11-24 02:45:39.980233+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-11-25 01:28:52.786078+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-11-25 01:48:11.664763+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-11-25 02:07:30.239804+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-11-25 02:20:26.780143+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-11-25 02:43:29.196244+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-11-25 04:09:50.758260+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-11-25 04:29:12.114804+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-11-25 04:49:50.830476+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-11-25 05:13:06.373383+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-11-25 06:03:34.987637+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps