Project

General

Profile

11252014

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56987 (starting evening of Nov 25, 2014)

Observers

  • Lucinda Clerkin (observer1)
  • Nikolay Kuropatkin (observer2)
  • Ting Li (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Leonardo Paredes
  • Alberto Álvarez

Almanac

mjd 56987, date 20141125, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:09 CLST     UT 18:09     SidTim 17:45
Sunset     20:33 CLST  23:33 UT   SidTim  347 deg  
Eve. -10   21:13 CLST  00:13 UT   SidTim  357 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:35 CLST  00:35 UT   SidTim    3 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:58 CLST  00:58 UT   SidTim    8 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:26 CLST  02:26 UT   SidTim   30 deg  
Midpoint   01:30 CLST  04:30 UT   SidTim   61 deg  
Morn -18   05:02 CLST  08:02 UT   SidTim  114 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:25 CLST  08:25 UT   SidTim  120 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:47 CLST  08:47 UT   SidTim  126 deg  
Sunrise    06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   SidTim  136 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 291.4, Dec -16.1 Phase: 0.260

Weather Conditions

Clear in the afternoon

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations
  2. Standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/26 00:13'     Local time = 21:13
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/26 08:25'     Local time = 05:25
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  5. End of night calibration
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json