Project

General

Profile

11242017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58082 (starting evening of Friday, Nov 24, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Agnès Ferté (run manager)
  • Indiarose Friswell (observer 1)
  • Hao-Yi Wu (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools


mjd 58082, date 20171124, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:23 CLST     UT 16:23     SidTim 15:56
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:32 CLST  23:32 UT   23:06  346 deg  
Eve. -10   21:12 CLST  00:12 UT   23:45  356 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:34 CLST  00:34 UT   00:07    2 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:57 CLST  00:57 UT   00:31    8 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    01:16 CLST  04:16 UT   03:49   57 deg  
Midpoint   01:30 CLST  04:30 UT   04:03   61 deg  
Morn -18   05:02 CLST  08:02 UT   07:35  114 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:25 CLST  08:25 UT   07:58  120 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:47 CLST  08:47 UT   08:20  125 deg  
Sunrise    06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   09:00  135 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 317.6, Dec -15.4 Phase: 0.415

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: Clear all night
  • humidity: 40 to 60%
  • Temp: ~10°C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • LDSW749B/HST
  • z band stripe 82 (eq-nov24) if z band seeing <~ 1.1'' (~60min)
  • ObsTac (WF + SN on seeing trigger)
  • 4UT +/- half hour: WD0308-565/HST (~5min): don't interrupt SN field
  • Morning standards (grizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

* Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/11/25 00:12'     Local time = 21:12
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/11/25 08:25'     Local time = 05:25
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.9
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-X1 short 2017-11-19 02:55:53.459301+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-11-19 03:15:16.825802+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-11-19 04:00:01.867015+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-11-19 04:21:37.789162+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-11-19 04:44:51.838631+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-11-19 05:04:33.095393+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-11-19 05:52:43.598760+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-11-19 06:28:52.910035+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-11-19 06:59:29.728184+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-11-19 07:43:21.483079+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-11-22 00:55:07.060335+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-11-22 02:03:36.974902+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-11-22 03:11:00.489931+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-11-22 03:37:28.945918+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-11-24 01:03:29.219723+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-11-24 02:45:39.980233+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps