Project

General

Profile

11242016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57717 (starting evening of November 24, 2016)

Full night

Observers

  • Stephanie Hamilton (Run manager)
  • Yuanyuan Zhang (Observer 1)
  • Agnes Ferte (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57717, date 20161124, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:20 CLST     UT 15:20     SidTim 14:54
Sunset     20:33 CLST  23:33 UT   SidTim  347 deg
Eve. -10   21:12 CLST  00:12 UT   SidTim  357 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:34 CLST  00:34 UT   SidTim    2 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:58 CLST  00:58 UT   SidTim    8 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:30 CLST  04:30 UT   SidTim   61 deg
Moonrise   04:26 CLST  07:26 UT   SidTim  105 deg
Morn -18   05:02 CLST  08:02 UT   SidTim  114 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:25 CLST  08:25 UT   SidTim  120 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:47 CLST  08:47 UT   SidTim  125 deg
Sunrise    06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   SidTim  135 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 196.8, Dec -3.1 Phase: 0.262

Weather Conditions

  • Beautiful clear blue skies around lunch time! Low humidity and no clouds forecasted, but will have gathering clouds in the last quarter of the night.
  • Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Observing Plan and Nightly Goals

  • Evening standards (using calspec)
UT Date = '2016/11/25 00:12'     Local time = 21:12
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
WD0308-565_CCD_52     ra 03:09:48  dec -56:18:49  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Obstac -- Will let obstac do its thing.
  • Alahambra -- Around 11:45 local time will try to redo Alahambra (Alahambra-deep2_zY_redo script) if seeing < 1'' and extinction < 0.1mag.
  • Morning standards (using calspec)
UT Date = '2016/11/25 05:25'     Local time = 02:25
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1

When were the SN fields last observed?

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-E1    short    2016-11-22 01:02:38.789718+00:00
SN-E2    short    2016-11-22 01:21:57.170755+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2016-11-22 01:43:40.115766+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2016-11-22 02:21:04.382336+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2016-11-22 02:55:04.758512+00:00
SN-X1    short    2016-11-22 04:04:47.718624+00:00
SN-X2    short    2016-11-22 04:24:01.689956+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2016-11-22 04:43:11.902734+00:00
SN-S2    short    2016-11-22 05:42:05.055992+00:00
SN-C2    short    2016-11-22 06:15:20.103168+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2016-11-22 06:34:36.165807+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2016-11-23 00:53:52.255327+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2016-11-23 01:16:53.238711+00:00
SN-C1    short    2016-11-24 00:41:42.853110+00:00
SN-S1    short    2016-11-24 01:02:15.533494+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2016-11-24 05:24:56.962609+00:00

Notes from 4pm meeting

No meeting today, Happy Thanksgiving!