Project

General

Profile

11242014

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56986 (starting evening of Nov 24, 2014)

Observers

  • Lucinda Clerkin (observer1)
  • Nikolay Kuropatkin (observer2)
  • Ting Li (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Leonardo Paredes
  • Alberto Álvarez

Almanac

mjd 56986, date 20141124, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:33 CLST     UT 18:33     SidTim 18:05
Sunset     20:32 CLST  23:32 UT   SidTim  346 deg  
Eve. -10   21:12 CLST  00:12 UT   SidTim  356 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:34 CLST  00:34 UT   SidTim    2 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:57 CLST  00:57 UT   SidTim    7 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    22:32 CLST  01:32 UT   SidTim   16 deg  
Midpoint   01:30 CLST  04:30 UT   SidTim   60 deg  
Morn -18   05:02 CLST  08:02 UT   SidTim  114 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:25 CLST  08:25 UT   SidTim  119 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:47 CLST  08:47 UT   SidTim  125 deg  
Sunrise    06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   SidTim  135 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 276.8, Dec -17.5 Phase: 0.184

Weather Conditions

Mostly cloudy in the afternoon

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations
  2. skipping standards if the sky remains cloudy.
  3. Standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/25 00:12'     Local time = 21:12
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  4. ObsTac
  5. End of night standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/25 08:25'     Local time = 05:25
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  6. End of night calibration
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json