Project

General

Profile

11232017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58081 (starting evening of Thursday, Nov 23, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Agnès Ferté (run manager)
  • Indiarose Friswell (observer 1)
  • Hao-Yi Wu (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Claudio Aguilera - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Rodrigo Hernandez

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools


mjd 58081, date 20171123, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:11 CLST     UT 18:11     SidTim 17:40
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:32 CLST  23:32 UT   23:01  345 deg  
Eve. -10   21:11 CLST  00:11 UT   23:40  355 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:33 CLST  00:33 UT   00:03    1 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:56 CLST  00:56 UT   00:25    6 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    00:35 CLST  03:35 UT   03:04   46 deg  
Midpoint   01:29 CLST  04:29 UT   03:59   60 deg  
Morn -18   05:03 CLST  08:03 UT   07:32  113 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:26 CLST  08:26 UT   07:55  119 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:48 CLST  08:48 UT   08:17  124 deg  
Sunrise    06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   08:56  134 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 305.3, Dec -17.5 Phase: 0.352

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: Clear all night
  • humidity: around 60%
  • Temp: ~10°C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirg)
  • LDS749B/HST
  • ObsTac
  • Morning standards (grizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

* Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/11/24 00:11'     Local time = 21:11
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/11/24 08:26'     Local time = 05:26
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.8
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-E1 short 2017-11-19 01:04:17.931283+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-11-19 02:34:08.233965+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-11-19 02:55:53.459301+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-11-19 03:15:16.825802+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-11-19 04:00:01.867015+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-11-19 04:21:37.789162+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-11-19 04:44:51.838631+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-11-19 05:04:33.095393+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-11-19 05:52:43.598760+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-11-19 06:28:52.910035+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-11-19 06:59:29.728184+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-11-19 07:43:21.483079+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-11-22 00:55:07.060335+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-11-22 02:03:36.974902+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-11-22 03:11:00.489931+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-11-22 03:37:28.945918+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps