Project

General

Profile

11232016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57716 (starting evening of November 23, 2016)

Full night

Observers

  • Stephanie Hamilton (Run manager)
  • Yuanyuan Zhang (Observer 1)
  • Agnes Ferte (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Rodrigo Hernandez - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57716, date 20161123, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:26 CLST     UT 16:26     SidTim 15:56
Sunset     20:32 CLST  23:32 UT   SidTim  346 deg
Eve. -10   21:11 CLST  00:11 UT   SidTim  356 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:33 CLST  00:33 UT   SidTim    1 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:56 CLST  00:56 UT   SidTim    7 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:29 CLST  04:29 UT   SidTim   60 deg
Moonrise   03:53 CLST  06:53 UT   SidTim   96 deg
Morn -18   05:02 CLST  08:02 UT   SidTim  113 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:25 CLST  08:25 UT   SidTim  119 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:47 CLST  08:47 UT   SidTim  125 deg
Sunrise    06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   SidTim  134 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 185.5, Dec 0.7 Phase: 0.319

Weather Conditions

  • Partly cloudy in the afternoon, puffy clouds overhead and above mountains. Forecasted to clear by the start of observations, humidity forecasted to be lower than past nights.
  • Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Observing Plan and Nightly Goals

  • Evening standards (using calspec)
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
WD0308-565_CCD_62     ra 03:09:48  dec -56:18:49  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Obstac -- Will let obstac do its thing.
    • Will leave use_zeropoint=False for tonight unless we get an update from Klaus.
  • Alhambra -- Around midnight local time will try to redo Alhambra (Alhambra-deep2_zY_redo script) if seeing < 1'' and extinction < 0.1mag. Again, seeing and extinction were both not good around the time these exposures needed to be taken.
  • Morning standards (using calspec)
UT Date = '2016/11/24 08:25'     Local time = 05:25
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.8
GD71_CCD_35           ra 05:52:28  dec +15:58:17  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the SN fields last observed?

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-E1    short    2016-11-22 01:02:38.789718+00:00
SN-E2    short    2016-11-22 01:21:57.170755+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2016-11-22 01:43:40.115766+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2016-11-22 02:21:04.382336+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2016-11-22 02:55:04.758512+00:00
SN-X1    short    2016-11-22 04:04:47.718624+00:00
SN-X2    short    2016-11-22 04:24:01.689956+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2016-11-22 04:43:11.902734+00:00
SN-S2    short    2016-11-22 05:42:05.055992+00:00
SN-C2    short    2016-11-22 06:15:20.103168+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2016-11-22 06:34:36.165807+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2016-11-23 00:53:52.255327+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2016-11-23 01:16:53.238711+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2016-11-23 02:25:01.957948+00:00
SN-S1    short    2016-11-23 02:39:02.300043+00:00
SN-C1    short    2016-11-23 03:00:36.361217+00:00

Notes from 4pm meeting

WoD

Happy Thanksgiving!