Project

General

Profile

11222017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58080 (starting evening of Wednesday, Nov 22, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

to get the names, check the shift table

  • Agnès Ferté (run manager)
  • Hao-Yi Wu (observer 1)
  • Indiarose Friswell (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

To get the names, check the "staff calendar":* Staff calendar

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support

Almanac

forgotten how to do this? Use ephem with kentools


mjd 58080, date 20171122, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:05 CLST     UT 18:05     SidTim 17:31
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:31 CLST  23:31 UT   22:56  344 deg  
Eve. -10   21:10 CLST  00:10 UT   23:36  354 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:32 CLST  00:32 UT   23:58  360 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:55 CLST  00:55 UT   00:20    5 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:52 CLST  02:52 UT   02:17   34 deg  
Midpoint   01:29 CLST  04:29 UT   03:54   58 deg  
Morn -18   05:03 CLST  08:03 UT   07:28  112 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:26 CLST  08:26 UT   07:51  118 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:48 CLST  08:48 UT   08:13  123 deg  
Sunrise    06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   08:53  133 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 293.0, Dec -18.9 Phase: 0.288

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: Clear all night
  • humidity: around 35%
  • Temp: ~14°C

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • LDS749B/HST
  • ObsTac
  • Low-z AT2017hpa (~8min before starting morning standards)
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)

forgotten how to do this? Use standards with kentools

* Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/11/23 00:10'     Local time = 21:10
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

  • Morning standards

UT Date = '2017/11/23 08:26'     Local time = 05:26
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.8
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-E1 short 2017-11-19 01:04:17.931283+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-11-19 02:34:08.233965+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-11-19 02:55:53.459301+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-11-19 03:15:16.825802+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-11-19 04:00:01.867015+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-11-19 04:21:37.789162+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-11-19 04:44:51.838631+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-11-19 05:04:33.095393+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-11-19 05:52:43.598760+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-11-19 06:28:52.910035+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-11-19 06:59:29.728184+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-11-19 07:43:21.483079+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-11-22 00:55:07.060335+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-11-22 02:03:36.974902+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-11-22 03:11:00.489931+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-11-22 03:37:28.945918+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps