Project

General

Profile

11212017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58079 (starting evening of Tuesday Nov 21, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Agnès ferté (RM)
  • Hao-Yi Wu (Obs1)
  • Indiarose Friswell (Obs2)

CTIO Staff

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support

Almanac

mjd 58079, date 20171121, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:28 CLST     UT 18:28     SidTim 17:49
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:30 CLST  23:30 UT   22:51  343 deg  
Eve. -10   21:09 CLST  00:09 UT   23:31  353 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:31 CLST  00:31 UT   23:53  358 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:54 CLST  00:54 UT   00:15    4 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:05 CLST  02:05 UT   01:26   22 deg  
Midpoint   01:29 CLST  04:29 UT   03:50   58 deg  
Morn -18   05:04 CLST  08:04 UT   07:25  111 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:26 CLST  08:26 UT   07:48  117 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:48 CLST  08:48 UT   08:10  122 deg  
Sunrise    06:28 CLST  09:28 UT   08:49  132 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 280.5, Dec -19.3 Phase: 0.224

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • Clouds: predicted to be clear all night.
  • Temp: 11-12 celsius (roughly)
  • Light wind.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • Icecube
  • ObsTac (Wide fields + X3z, C1, C3z on deadman)
  • Lowz AT2017hng
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)
  • Evening standards
UT Date = '2017/11/22 00:09'     Local time = 21:09
E2-A                  ra 04:03:00  dec -44:41:45  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/11/22 08:26'     Local time = 05:26
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.8
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-X3 long_z 2017-11-14 03:07:28.033937+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-11-14 05:52:32.217935+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-11-14 07:19:16.053725+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-11-17 00:52:28.171446+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-11-19 01:04:17.931283+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-11-19 02:34:08.233965+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-11-19 02:55:53.459301+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-11-19 03:15:16.825802+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-11-19 04:00:01.867015+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-11-19 04:21:37.789162+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-11-19 04:44:51.838631+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-11-19 05:04:33.095393+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-11-19 05:52:43.598760+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-11-19 06:28:52.910035+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-11-19 06:59:29.728184+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-11-19 07:43:21.483079+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps