Project

General

Profile

11212016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57714 (starting evening of November 21, 2016)

Full night

Observers

  • Stephanie Hamilton (Run manager)
  • Agnes Ferte (Observer 1)
  • Yuanyuan Zhang (Observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

Current local time 14:46 CLST     UT 17:46     SidTim 17:08
Sunset     20:30 CLST  23:30 UT   SidTim  343 deg
Eve. -10   21:09 CLST  00:09 UT   SidTim  353 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:31 CLST  00:31 UT   SidTim  358 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:54 CLST  00:54 UT   SidTim    4 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:29 CLST  04:29 UT   SidTim   58 deg
Moonrise   02:44 CLST  05:44 UT   SidTim   76 deg
Morn -18   05:03 CLST  08:03 UT   SidTim  112 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:26 CLST  08:26 UT   SidTim  117 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:48 CLST  08:48 UT   SidTim  123 deg
Sunrise    06:28 CLST  09:28 UT   SidTim  132 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 162.3, Dec 8.3 Phase: 0.436

Weather Conditions

  • Partially cloudy in the afternoon, some clouds over the mountains. May have some humidity in the early morning hours, otherwise forecast looks good!
  • Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Observing Plan and Nightly Goals

  • Evening standards (using calspec)
UT Date = '2016/11/22 00:09'     Local time = 21:09
WD0308-565_CCD_35     ra 03:09:48  dec -56:18:49  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Obstac -- Will let obstac do its thing. Will fit OCS parameter for SN fields (test for Klaus).
  • Alhambra -- Around midnight local time will try to redo Alhambra (Alhambra-deep2_zY_redo script) if seeing < 1'' and extinction < 0.1mag. Neither criteria was met, obstac showed no signs of scheduling anything other than SN exposures.
  • Morning standards (using calspec)
UT Date = '2016/11/22 08:26'     Local time = 05:26
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.8
WD0308-565_CCD_62     ra 03:09:48  dec -56:18:49  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the SN fields last observed?

hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-E1    short    2016-11-16 01:11:30.633626+00:00
SN-E2    short    2016-11-16 01:30:47.922307+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2016-11-16 02:53:48.853899+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2016-11-16 03:51:56.903044+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2016-11-16 04:26:01.414390+00:00
SN-X1    short    2016-11-17 00:30:36.564668+00:00
SN-X2    short    2016-11-17 00:49:48.595822+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2016-11-17 01:09:01.244751+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2016-11-17 01:21:54.729278+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2016-11-17 01:45:53.500151+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2016-11-17 01:58:50.317161+00:00
SN-C2    short    2016-11-17 02:21:51.410382+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2016-11-17 02:42:21.790219+00:00
SN-S2    short    2016-11-17 03:49:53.423966+00:00
SN-C1    short    2016-11-18 00:52:22.265253+00:00
SN-S1    short    2016-11-18 01:12:47.254690+00:00

Notes from 4pm meeting

WoD

Ask for ice cream!