Project

General

Profile

11212013

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56618 (starting evening of Nov 21, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Arnau Pujol Kevin Reil Marisa March
ext. 511 ext. 513 ext. 516 or 630 338 9267

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Manuel Hernandez Alberto Alvarez

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56618, date 20131121, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:57 CLST     UT 16:57     SidTim 16:19
Sunset     20:30 CLST  23:30 UT   SidTim  343 deg  
Eve. -10   21:09 CLST  00:09 UT   SidTim  353 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:31 CLST  00:31 UT   SidTim  358 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:54 CLST  00:54 UT   SidTim    4 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   23:41 CLST  02:41 UT   SidTim   30 deg  
Midpoint   01:29 CLST  04:29 UT   SidTim   58 deg  
Morn -18   05:04 CLST  08:04 UT   SidTim  111 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:26 CLST  08:26 UT   SidTim  117 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:48 CLST  08:48 UT   SidTim  122 deg  
Sunrise    06:28 CLST  09:28 UT   SidTim  132 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 111.9, Dec 17.5 Phase: 0.711

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links .

http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Clear, some cloud on horizon.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Start of night standards.
  3. Nightly out of focus image. script to use: defocus_nightly.json (right after last standard, no break)
  4. ObsTac.
  5. End of night standards.
  6. End of night calibrations. if start of night calibrations good use: postnight_calibration.json, otherwise use postnight_zeros_flats.json

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down.
UT Date = '2013/11/22 00:09' Local time = 21:09
E2-A ra 04:03:00 dec -44:41:45 secz 1.7 script to use: DES_std_e2a_Yzirg
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.5 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0200_Yzirg
SDSSJ2300-0000 ra 23:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 script to use: DES_std_sdssj2300_Yzirg

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Check Wind screen down.
UT Date = '2013/11/22 08:26' Local time = 05:26
C26202/HST ra 03:32:30 dec -27:46:05 secz 1.8 script to use: DES_std_c26202_grizY
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.6 script to use: DES_std_sdssj1048_grizY
SDSSJ0843-0000 ra 08:43:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0843_grizY

Notes from 4pm Meeting

(Thanks to Tom for minutes)

Run Manager's Meeting Nov. 21, 2013
-----------------------------------
Tom, Marisa, Robert, Eric, Manuel, Don, Margaret, Alex

Camera and Telescope
--------------------
Telescope is on white spot and camera is ready to go.

Last Night's Data
-----------------
WF and SN the night before.
Last night was very nice. WF z and Y-band with < 1" seeing.
Nightly out-of-focus images are working and will be done regularly.

Last night had to restart pipeline6, observer1, and readout1 machines
during calibrations.

DESDM
-----
Got last night's data and it is being processed already.
DQ is in hand for 11/18 and 11/19.

X1 from a couple nights ago (11/18) data quality failed seeing
and signal to noise for 2 of the filters => X1 needs to be redone.
Robert's version of the software flagged that as so. Robert produced
the DQ file and sent it to DES operations for implementation.

OBSTAC decides what to observe, including whether to do SN sequence.
SN would be happy to allow one image of a SN sequence to be bad but
still keep the sequence as good, but at present OBSTAC will flag the sequence
as bad if any of the images is labeled as bad. In tonight's case, since
2 filters of X1 were bad, everybody is happy with the result. E.N. will
work on OBSTAC in this regard but that will take some time.
Data bases going down starting on Friday afternoon. Will be able to
receive data but not process it during the interval.

Tonight
-------
Weather looks good.
We expect it to redo X1.
Otherwise g,r,i when the moon is down, i,z,Y when the Moon comes up.

AOB
---
None.