Project

General

Profile

11202014

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56982 (starting evening of Nov 20, 2014)

Observers

  • Christina Krawiec (observer1)
  • Ting Li (observer2)
  • Chris D'Andrea (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez
  • Claudio Aguilera

Almanac

mjd 56982, date 20141120, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:52 CLST     UT 17:52     SidTim 17:09
Sunset     20:29 CLST  23:29 UT   SidTim  341 deg  
Eve. -10   21:08 CLST  00:08 UT   SidTim  351 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:30 CLST  00:30 UT   SidTim  356 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:53 CLST  00:53 UT   SidTim    2 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   SidTim   56 deg  
Morn -18   05:04 CLST  08:04 UT   SidTim  110 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:27 CLST  08:27 UT   SidTim  116 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:49 CLST  08:49 UT   SidTim  121 deg  
Moonrise   06:02 CLST  09:02 UT   SidTim  125 deg  
Sunrise    06:28 CLST  09:28 UT   SidTim  131 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 220.8, Dec -12.9 Phase: 0.105

Weather Conditions

clear sky in the afternoon

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations
  2. Standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/21 00:08'     Local time = 21:08
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/21 08:27'     Local time = 05:27
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
    
  5. End of night calibration
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json