Project

General

Profile

11192017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 580787 (starting evening of Sunday Nov 19, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Reese Wilkinson (RM)
  • Mandeep Gill (Obs1)
  • Kate Furnell (Obs2)

CTIO Staff

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support

Almanac

mjd 58077, date 20171119, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 20:26 CLST     UT 23:26     SidTim 22:40
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:28 CLST  23:28 UT   22:42  340 deg
Eve. -10   21:07 CLST  00:07 UT   23:21  350 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Moonset    21:25 CLST  00:25 UT   23:38  354 deg
Eve. -14   21:29 CLST  00:29 UT   23:43  356 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:52 CLST  00:52 UT   00:05    1 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   03:42   56 deg
Morn -18   05:05 CLST  08:05 UT   07:18  110 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:28 CLST  08:28 UT   07:41  115 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:49 CLST  08:49 UT   08:03  121 deg
Sunrise    06:28 CLST  09:28 UT   08:42  130 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 255.8, Dec -17.7 Phase: 0.096

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • Clouds: clouds on the horizon 16:00 UT, completely clear though at sunset around 23:27 UT. Predicted to be clear all night.
  • Temp: 8-12 celsius (roughly)
  • Wind predicted to be medium all night.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • ObsTac - C1, C3z, X3z are available on seeing deadman
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)
  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
UT Date = '2017/11/19 00:07'     Local time = 21:07
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/11/19 08:28'     Local time = 05:28
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-X3 long_z 2017-11-14 03:07:28.033937+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-11-14 05:52:32.217935+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-11-14 07:19:16.053725+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-11-17 00:52:28.171446+00:00
SN-E1 short 2017-11-19 01:04:17.931283+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-11-19 02:34:08.233965+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-11-19 02:55:53.459301+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-11-19 03:15:16.825802+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-11-19 04:00:01.867015+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-11-19 04:21:37.789162+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-11-19 04:44:51.838631+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-11-19 05:04:33.095393+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-11-19 05:52:43.598760+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-11-19 06:28:52.910035+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-11-19 06:59:29.728184+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-11-19 07:43:21.483079+00:00

Available tonight C1, C3z, X3z.

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps