Project

General

Profile

11192014

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56981 (starting evening of Nov 19, 2014)

Observers

  • Christina Krawiec (observer1)
  • Chris D'Andrea (observer2)
  • Ting Li (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez
  • Claudio Aguilera
  • Rodrigo Hernandez

Almanac

mjd 56981, date 20141119, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:17 CLST     UT 17:17     SidTim 16:29
Sunset     20:28 CLST  23:28 UT   SidTim  340 deg  
Eve. -10   21:07 CLST  00:07 UT   SidTim  350 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:29 CLST  00:29 UT   SidTim  355 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:51 CLST  00:51 UT   SidTim    1 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   SidTim   55 deg  
Morn -18   05:05 CLST  08:05 UT   SidTim  110 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Moonrise   05:20 CLST  08:20 UT   SidTim  113 deg  
Morn Std   05:28 CLST  08:28 UT   SidTim  115 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:49 CLST  08:49 UT   SidTim  120 deg  
Sunrise    06:29 CLST  09:29 UT   SidTim  130 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 208.1, Dec -9.8 Phase: 0.169

Weather Conditions
A few thin cirrus clouds in the sky in the afternoon.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations
  2. Standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/20 00:07'     Local time = 21:07
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/20 08:28'     Local time = 05:28
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  5. End of night calibration
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json