Project

General

Profile

11182017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 580786 (starting evening of Sat Nov 18, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Reese Wilkinson (RM)
  • Kate Furnell (Obs1)
  • Mandeep Gill (Obs2)

CTIO Staff

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support

Almanac

mjd 58076, date 20171118, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 19:59 CLST     UT 22:59     SidTim 22:09
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:27 CLST  23:27 UT   22:37  339 deg
Moonset    20:32 CLST  23:32 UT   22:41  340 deg
Eve. -10   21:06 CLST  00:06 UT   23:16  349 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:28 CLST  00:28 UT   23:38  354 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:51 CLST  00:51 UT   00:00    0 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   03:38   54 deg
Morn -18   05:06 CLST  08:06 UT   07:15  109 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:28 CLST  08:28 UT   07:38  114 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:50 CLST  08:50 UT   07:59  120 deg
Sunrise    06:29 CLST  09:29 UT   08:38  130 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 243.6, Dec -15.7 Phase: 0.034

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • Clouds: clouds on the horizon 16:00 UT, completely clear though at sunset around 23:27 UT. Predicted to be clear all night.
  • Temp: 8-12 celsius (roughly)
  • Wind predicted to be low all night.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • One WD script (LDS-749B_Dark_updated_program.json) after standards
  • ObsTac - all WF unless directed otherwise
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)
  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
UT Date = '2017/11/19 00:06'     Local time = 21:06
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/11/19 08:28'     Local time = 05:28
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-E1 short 2017-11-14 00:38:00.218650+00:00
SN-E2 short 2017-11-14 00:57:23.290916+00:00
SN-X1 short 2017-11-14 01:18:27.403008+00:00
SN-X2 short 2017-11-14 01:37:46.668644+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2017-11-14 01:57:12.370325+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2017-11-14 02:10:16.353734+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2017-11-14 02:33:23.089063+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2017-11-14 03:07:28.033937+00:00
SN-S2 short 2017-11-14 04:15:09.282539+00:00
SN-S1 short 2017-11-14 04:34:38.318277+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2017-11-14 04:55:09.129340+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2017-11-14 05:18:24.533453+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2017-11-14 05:52:32.217935+00:00
SN-C2 short 2017-11-14 06:59:51.276674+00:00
SN-C1 short 2017-11-14 07:19:16.053725+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2017-11-17 00:52:28.171446+00:00

None queued tonight.

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps