Project

General

Profile

11182014

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56980 (starting evening of Nov 18, 2014)

Observers

  • Christina Krawiec (observer1)
  • Dominik Gangkofner (observer2)
  • Ting Li (run manager)
  • Chris D'Andrea

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez
  • Claudio Aguilera
  • Rodrigo Hernandez

Almanac

mjd 56980, date 20141118, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:26 CLST     UT 17:26     SidTim 16:34
Sunset     20:27 CLST  23:27 UT   SidTim  339 deg  
Eve. -10   21:06 CLST  00:06 UT   SidTim  349 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:28 CLST  00:28 UT   SidTim  354 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:50 CLST  00:50 UT   SidTim  360 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   SidTim   54 deg  
Moonrise   04:42 CLST  07:42 UT   SidTim  103 deg  
Morn -18   05:06 CLST  08:06 UT   SidTim  108 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:28 CLST  08:28 UT   SidTim  114 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:50 CLST  08:50 UT   SidTim  120 deg  
Sunrise    06:29 CLST  09:29 UT   SidTim  129 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 196.0, Dec -6.3 Phase: 0.230

Weather Conditions

Clear in the afternoon. Clouds on the horizon. Winds around 8-10mph. humidity 33%.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations
  2. Standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/19 00:06'     Local time = 21:06
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/19 08:28'     Local time = 05:28
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  5. End of night calibration
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json