Project

General

Profile

11182013

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56615 (starting evening of Nov 18, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Arnau Pujol Kevin Reil Marisa March
ext. 511 ext. 513 ext. 516 or 630 338 9267

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Manuel Hernandez Claudio Aguilera

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56615, date 20131118, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:51 CLST     UT 16:51     SidTim 16:01
Sunset     20:27 CLST  23:27 UT   SidTim  339 deg  
Eve. -10   21:06 CLST  00:06 UT   SidTim  349 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Moonrise   21:23 CLST  00:23 UT   SidTim  353 deg  
Eve. -14   21:28 CLST  00:28 UT   SidTim  354 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:51 CLST  00:51 UT   SidTim    0 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   SidTim   54 deg  
Morn -18   05:06 CLST  08:06 UT   SidTim  109 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:28 CLST  08:28 UT   SidTim  114 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:50 CLST  08:50 UT   SidTim  120 deg  
Sunrise    06:29 CLST  09:29 UT   SidTim  130 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 73.8, Dec 20.1 Phase: 0.903

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links .

http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Partial cloud.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Start of night standards
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards
  5. End of night calibrations

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down.
UT Date = '2013/11/19 00:06' Local time = 21:06
C26202/HST ra 03:32:30 dec -27:46:05 secz 1.8 script to use: DES_std_c26202_Yzirg ALL EPOCH J2000
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.5 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0200_Yzirg
SDSSJ2300-0000 ra 23:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 script to use: DES_std_sdssj2300_Yzirg

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Check Wind screen down.
UT Date = '2013/11/19 08:28' Local time = 05:28
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.7 script to use: DES_std_sdssj1048_grizY
SDSSJ0958-0010 ra 09:58:00 dec -00:10:00 secz 1.4 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0958_grizY
SDSSJ0843-0000 ra 08:43:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0843_grizY

  1. Notes from 4pm Meeting

Run Manager's Meeting 11/18/2013
--------------------------------
Tom, Eric, Marisa, Michael, Margaret, Robert, Arnau, Manuel, Josh
Mauro

Telescope and Camera status
---------------------------
Telescope is OK. Some work on the dome floor moving stuff around.
Can move for calibrations in about 25 minutes.

Review of previous night¹s data
-------------------------------
Some clouds early on.
About 2 1/2 hrs of good y-band data after 2 AM local.
sn deep field in z-band at about 3 UTC seemed saturated with background
from the comfort display. That was C1.

3 small issues annoying the shifters
shutter failures - 2 kinds. The images stuck blades don't get built. The ones with timing
problems do and are reported in the night summary.
stuck guis -
missing backplanes 1,5 -

Feedback from weekend engineering
---------------------------------
https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/des-sci-verification/wiki/November152013
was executed.

Data Management
---------------
Assessments for 11/2, 11/13 are finished and sent to CTIO.
Margaret is looking at the next few nights.

Declaration of SN exposures as bad need to get Steve to look at the data
from yesterday. Steve's report from shortly after the meeting is that the
clouds hadn't kicked-in at the time of the SN C1 exposures.
But 255510 to 255512, X3 z-band, are found as "bad".
See http://decam03.fnal.gov:8080/QC/20131117.assess.html

Because X3 the z-band didn't finish, Obstac will interpret this
as something that still needs to be done.

There is progress from Marisa on the SN DQ. She has code that
does s/n for fake SN objects and also uses the FWHM info as well.
We think this is being implemented into the big gears of DESDM
data processing.

Nightly observing plan
----------------------
Kinda cloudy at this time, and we are one day after a full moon.

The current observing plan for tonight can be found here:
https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/11182013

Obstac is predicted to do WF Y-band, maybe some z-band. Also some SNs.

AOB
---
none.