Project

General

Profile

11172018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58440 (starting evening of Nov 17, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Jessie Muir (Run Manager)
  • Antonella Palmese (observer 1)
  • Noah Weaverdyck (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58440, date 20181117, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:41 CLST     UT 18:41     SidTim 17:45
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:26 CLST  23:26 UT   22:31  338 deg  
Eve. -10   21:05 CLST  00:05 UT   23:10  348 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:27 CLST  00:27 UT   23:31  353 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:49 CLST  00:49 UT   23:54  358 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   03:32   53 deg  
Moonset    03:56 CLST  06:56 UT   06:01   90 deg  
Morn -18   05:06 CLST  08:06 UT   07:11  108 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:29 CLST  08:29 UT   07:34  114 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:50 CLST  08:50 UT   07:55  119 deg  
Sunrise    06:29 CLST  09:29 UT   08:34  128 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 355.5, Dec -5.8 Phase: 0.672

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/18 00:05'     Local time = 21:05
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
    
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/18 08:29'     Local time = 05:29
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

  • Will run script to observe 4 exposures in west end of thin 82 at start of night. Json script has Nov 17 in name, should start at 0:20 UT (exposures to start by 0:25, but 0:20 accounts for slewing) which will interrupt standards. Do not start before 0:17.
  • Priorities: obstac if good seeing, photosweeps if bad seeing but photometric (see link sent by Eric N for how to generate scripts), then narrow band.
  • Feature on on N13: "piece of fluff"
  • Accepting data quality.
  • Still no atmcam folders from 11/15 & 11/16. Will contact Ting again.

Priorities (highest to lowest)

Same as last night.
1) Obstac
2) photosweep (1.6 < seeing < 2.0)
3) narrowband (2.0 < seeing)

Other Notes