Project

General

Profile

11162017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58075 (starting evening of Th Nov 16, 2017)

3/4 night for DES

Observers

  • Kate Furnell (Run Mgr)
  • Reese Wilkinson (observer 2)
  • Mandeep Gill (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support

Almanac

mjd 58075, date 20171117, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 20:26 CLST     UT 23:26     SidTim 22:32
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:26 CLST  23:26 UT   22:32  338 deg  
Eve. -10   21:05 CLST  00:05 UT   23:11  348 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:27 CLST  00:27 UT   23:33  353 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:49 CLST  00:49 UT   23:55  359 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   03:33   53 deg  
Morn -18   05:06 CLST  08:06 UT   07:12  108 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:29 CLST  08:29 UT   07:34  114 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:50 CLST  08:50 UT   07:56  119 deg  
Sunrise    06:29 CLST  09:29 UT   08:35  129 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 231.6, Dec -13.0 Phase: 0.027

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • Clouds: clouds on the horizon 16:00 UT, completely clear though at sunset around 20:26. Predicted to be clear all night.
  • Temp: 8-12 celsius (roughly)
  • Wind predicted to be low all night.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • One WD script (LDS-749B_Dark_updated_program.json) after standards
  • Nov 17th equatorial script run after that (last one)
  • ObsTac - all WF unless directed otherwise
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)
  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
UT Date = '2017/11/18 00:05'     Local time = 21:05
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.6
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

None queued tonight.

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps