Project

General

Profile

11172017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57710 (starting evening of November 17, 2016)

Full night

Observers

  • Tim Abbott (observer 1)
  • Alfredo Zenteno (observer 2, Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Rodrigo Hernandez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57710, date 20161117, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 17:17 CLST     UT 20:17     SidTim 19:23
Sunset     20:27 CLST  23:27 UT   SidTim  338 deg  
Eve. -10   21:06 CLST  00:06 UT   SidTim  348 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:27 CLST  00:27 UT   SidTim  354 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:50 CLST  00:50 UT   SidTim  359 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   23:44 CLST  02:44 UT   SidTim   28 deg  
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   SidTim   54 deg  
Morn -18   05:06 CLST  08:06 UT   SidTim  108 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:29 CLST  08:29 UT   SidTim  114 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:50 CLST  08:50 UT   SidTim  119 deg  
Sunrise    06:29 CLST  09:29 UT   SidTim  129 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 108.3, Dec 19.1 Phase: 0.712

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Standard at the beginning of the night [Yzirg ordered scripts].
UT Date = '2016/11/18 00:06'     Local time = 21:06
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.8
LDS749B_CCD_62        ra 21:32:16  dec +00:20:14  secz 1.3
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • obstac. SN Trick: run SN fields with parameter OCS set use_zeropoint=True. Monitor the offsets and turn the OCS command off if offsets get > 15".
  • At 03:15 UT Alhambra fields (Alhambra-deep2_zY_redo script): If seeing < 1" and extinction ~< 0.1 magnitudes. About 12 minutes exposures.
  • morning standards: [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2016/11/18 08:29'     Local time = 05:29
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
C26202_CCD_52         ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Notes from 4pm Meeting

The state of the use_zeropoint flag is not sticky - after restart or configure it goes back to False

Please check and record the centering for each sN pointing shot and each exposure that
occurs immediately afterwards. Check pixels.
If find that we are off by > 15" in the pointing shot and remain off by that
amount then turn it off when that SN field is finished.

WoD

Take great data.