Project

General

Profile

11172014

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56979 (starting evening of Nov 17, 2014)

Observers

  • Christina Krawiec (observer1)
  • Dominik Gangkofner (observer2)
  • Chris D'Andrea (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez
  • Claudio Aguilera / Rodrigo Hernandez

Almanac

mjd 56979, date 20141117, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:42 CLST     UT 15:42     SidTim 14:47
Sunset     20:26 CLST  23:26 UT   SidTim  338 deg  
Eve. -10   21:05 CLST  00:05 UT   SidTim  348 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:27 CLST  00:27 UT   SidTim  353 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:49 CLST  00:49 UT   SidTim  358 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   SidTim   53 deg  
Moonrise   04:07 CLST  07:07 UT   SidTim   93 deg  
Morn -18   05:06 CLST  08:06 UT   SidTim  108 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:29 CLST  08:29 UT   SidTim  113 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:50 CLST  08:50 UT   SidTim  119 deg  
Sunrise    06:29 CLST  09:29 UT   SidTim  128 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 184.2, Dec -2.5 Phase: 0.289

Weather Conditions

Clear in the afternoon. Clouds on the horizon; hope they stay there. Winds around 8-10mph. Low humidity 32%.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations
  2. Standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/18 00:05'     Local time = 21:05
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/17 08:30'     Local time = 05:30
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  5. End of night calibration
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json