Project

General

Profile

11172013

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56614 (starting evening of Nov 17, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Kevin Reil Marisa March
ext. 516 or 630 338 9267

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Hernan Tirado Claudio Aguilera

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56614, date 20131117, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 11:54 CLST     UT 14:54     SidTim 14:00
Sunset     20:26 CLST  23:26 UT   SidTim  338 deg  
Moonrise   20:30 CLST  23:30 UT   SidTim  339 deg  
Eve. -10   21:05 CLST  00:05 UT   SidTim  348 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:27 CLST  00:27 UT   SidTim  353 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:49 CLST  00:49 UT   SidTim  359 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   SidTim   53 deg  
Morn -18   05:06 CLST  08:06 UT   SidTim  108 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:29 CLST  08:29 UT   SidTim  114 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:50 CLST  08:50 UT   SidTim  119 deg  
Sunrise    06:29 CLST  09:29 UT   SidTim  129 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 60.7, Dec 19.2 Phase: 0.969

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links .

http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Clear.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Start of night standards
  3. ObsTac
  4. Time TBC: Neptune proposal (1x45mins, D. James, non-DES program)
  5. Time TBC: AOS tests
  6. End of night standards
  7. End of night calibrations

Start of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Wind screen down.
UT Date = '2013/11/18 00:05' Local time = 21:05
C26202/HST ra 03:32:30 dec -27:46:05 secz 1.8 script to use: DES_std_c26202_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.6 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0200_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ2300-0000 ra 23:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 script to use: DES_std_sdssj2300_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards MANUAL SLEW TO THESE FIELDS Check Wind screen down.
UT Date = '2013/11/18 08:29' Local time = 05:29
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.7 script to use: DES_std_sdssj1048_grizY.json
SDSSJ0958-0010 ra 09:58:00 dec -00:10:00 secz 1.4 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0958_grizY.json
SDSSJ0843-0000 ra 08:43:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0843_grizY.json