Project

General

Profile

11162018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58439 (starting evening of Nov 16, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Antonella Palmese (Run Manager)
  • Noah Weaverdyck (observer 1)
  • Jessie Muir (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58439, date 20181116, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:47 CLST     UT 18:47     SidTim 17:48
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:25 CLST  23:25 UT   22:26  336 deg  
Eve. -10   21:04 CLST  00:04 UT   23:05  346 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:26 CLST  00:26 UT   23:26  352 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:48 CLST  00:48 UT   23:49  357 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   03:28   52 deg  
Moonset    03:23 CLST  06:23 UT   05:24   81 deg  
Morn -18   05:07 CLST  08:07 UT   07:08  107 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:29 CLST  08:29 UT   07:30  112 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:51 CLST  08:51 UT   07:52  118 deg  
Sunrise    06:30 CLST  09:30 UT   08:31  128 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 343.9, Dec -9.9 Phase: 0.612

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/17 00:04'     Local time = 21:04
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/17 08:29'     Local time = 05:29
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

  • Non-atmospheric PSF seems higher than usual (~0.6 instead of 0.4-0.5), but it has a lot of scatter and it is hard to tell if we need to worry.
  • Expecting a really good seeing (best Eric has ever seen with Calsky)
  • Tomorrow (Eric will tell us better later) will be trying to get a few exposures in s82 thatr set early, will need to start script that has 11/17 in name at 00:20 UT, will need to cut standards off early for that.
  • Antonella will send Eric and Tom the GW170814 candidates positions

Priorities (highest to lowest)

Same as last night.
1) Obstac
2) photosweep (1.6 < seeing < 2.0)
3) narrowband (2.0 < seeing)

Other Notes