Project

General

Profile

11162017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58074 (starting evening of Th Nov 16, 2017)

3/4 night for DES

Observers

  • Kate Furnell (Run Mgr)
  • Reese Wilkinson (observer 1)
  • Mandeep Gill (observer 2 )

CTIO Staff

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support

Almanac

mjd 58074, date 20171116, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 19:32 CLST     UT 22:32     SidTim 21:34
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:26 CLST  23:26 UT   22:27  337 deg
Eve. -10   21:04 CLST  00:04 UT   23:06  346 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:26 CLST  00:26 UT   23:28  352 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:48 CLST  00:48 UT   23:50  358 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   03:29   52 deg
Morn -18   05:07 CLST  08:07 UT   07:09  107 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:29 CLST  08:29 UT   07:31  113 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:51 CLST  08:51 UT   07:53  118 deg
Moonrise   06:20 CLST  09:20 UT   08:21  125 deg
Sunrise    06:30 CLST  09:30 UT   08:31  128 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 219.7, Dec -9.7 Phase: 0.088

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: supposed to be clear all night.
  • Temp: 11-13 celsius (roughly)

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • Stripe 82 equatorial script about 15 min after that
  • One WD script (WD0308-565) at ~4UT
  • ObsTac - will be almost all WF, with C3g showing up
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)
  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
UT Date = '2017/11/17 00:04'     Local time = 21:04
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/11/17 08:29'     Local time = 05:29
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

Except for C3g, all seen on Mon night.

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps