Project

General

Profile

11162014

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56978 (starting evening of Nov 16, 2014)

Observers

  • Christina Krawiec (observer1)
  • Dominik Gangkofner (observer2)
  • Chris D'Andrea (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado
  • Claudio Aguilera

Almanac

mjd 56978, date 20141116, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:18 CLST     UT 16:18     SidTim 15:19
Sunset     20:25 CLST  23:25 UT   SidTim  336 deg  
Eve. -10   21:04 CLST  00:04 UT   SidTim  346 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:26 CLST  00:26 UT   SidTim  352 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:48 CLST  00:48 UT   SidTim  357 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:28 CLST  04:28 UT   SidTim   52 deg  
Moonrise   03:33 CLST  06:33 UT   SidTim   83 deg  
Morn -18   05:07 CLST  08:07 UT   SidTim  107 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:30 CLST  08:30 UT   SidTim  112 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:51 CLST  08:51 UT   SidTim  118 deg  
Sunrise    06:30 CLST  09:30 UT   SidTim  128 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 172.8, Dec 1.3 Phase: 0.346

Weather Conditions

Mostly clear in the afternoon. Clouds on the horizon; hope they stay there. Winds around 6mph. Humidity 35%.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations
  2. Standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/17 00:04'     Local time = 21:04
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/17 08:30'     Local time = 05:30
    E5-A                  ra 12:04:11  dec -45:24:03  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  5. End of night calibration
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json