Project

General

Profile

11152018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58438 (starting evening of Nov 15, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Noah Weaverdyck (Run Manager)
  • Jessie Muir (observer 1)
  • Antonella Palmese (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58438, date 20181115, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:53 CLST     UT 18:53     SidTim 17:50
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:24 CLST  23:24 UT   22:21  335 deg  
Eve. -10   21:03 CLST  00:03 UT   23:00  345 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:25 CLST  00:25 UT   23:21  350 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:47 CLST  00:47 UT   23:44  356 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   03:24   51 deg  
Moonset    02:48 CLST  05:48 UT   04:45   71 deg  
Morn -18   05:08 CLST  08:08 UT   07:05  106 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:30 CLST  08:30 UT   07:27  112 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:52 CLST  08:52 UT   07:48  117 deg  
Sunrise    06:30 CLST  09:30 UT   08:27  127 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 332.1, Dec -13.5 Phase: 0.552

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/16 00:03'     Local time = 21:03
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
    
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/16 08:30'     Local time = 05:30
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting
Check bragging rights. Almost 1/10th of tile last night!

Priorities (highest to lowest)
Same as last night.
1) Obstac
2) photosweep (1.6 < seeing < 2.0)
3) narrowband (2.0 < seeing)

Other Notes