Project

General

Profile

11152017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58073 (starting evening of W Nov 15, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Mandeep Gill (Run Mgr)
  • Reese Wilkinson (observer 1)
  • Kate Furnell (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Rodrigo Hernandez - Operator
  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support

Almanac

mjd 58073, date 20171115, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:25 CLST  23:25 UT   22:22  336 deg
Eve. -10   21:03 CLST  00:03 UT   23:01  345 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:25 CLST  00:25 UT   23:23  351 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:47 CLST  00:47 UT   23:45  356 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   03:25   51 deg
Morn -18   05:08 CLST  08:08 UT   07:05  106 deg  Begin astronomical
twilight
Morn -14   05:30 CLST  08:30 UT   07:28  112 deg  End obstac; begin
standards
Moonrise   05:44 CLST  08:44 UT   07:42  116 deg
Morn -10   05:51 CLST  08:51 UT   07:49  117 deg
Sunrise    06:30 CLST  09:30 UT   08:28  127 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 208.0, Dec -5.9 Phase: 0.147


	

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: supposed to be clear all night.
  • Temp: 11-13 celsius (roughly)

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • One Icecube ToO
  • One WD script (LDS749B)
  • ObsTac - will be almost all WF
  • Lowz SN field at ~08UT
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)
  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
UT Date = '2017/11/16 00:03'     Local time = 21:03
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/11/16 08:30'     Local time = 05:30
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

Except for C3g, all seen on Mon night.

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps