Project

General

Profile

11152014

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56977 (starting evening of Nov 15, 2014)

Observers

  • Christina Krawiec (observer1)
  • Dominik Gangkofner (observer2)
  • Ting Li (run manager)
  • Chris D'Andrea (run manager IT)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado
  • Claudio Aguilera

Almanac

mjd 56977, date 20141115, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:04 CLST     UT 16:04     SidTim 15:01
Sunset     20:24 CLST  23:24 UT   SidTim  335 deg  
Eve. -10   21:03 CLST  00:03 UT   SidTim  345 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:25 CLST  00:25 UT   SidTim  350 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:47 CLST  00:47 UT   SidTim  356 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   SidTim   51 deg  
Moonrise   02:59 CLST  05:59 UT   SidTim   74 deg  
Morn -18   05:08 CLST  08:08 UT   SidTim  106 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:30 CLST  08:30 UT   SidTim  112 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:52 CLST  08:52 UT   SidTim  117 deg  
Sunrise    06:30 CLST  09:30 UT   SidTim  127 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 161.5, Dec 5.1 Phase: 0.402

Weather Conditions

Clear in the afternoon.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations
  2. Standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/16 00:03'     Local time = 21:03
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/16 08:30'     Local time = 05:30
    E5-A                  ra 12:04:11  dec -45:24:03  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ0933-0005        ra 09:33:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  5. End of night calibration
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json