Project

General

Profile

11142018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58437 (starting evening of Nov 14, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Noah Weaverdyck (Run Manager)
  • Antonella Palmese (observer 1)
  • Jessie Muir (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58437, date 20181114, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 19:46 CLST     UT 22:46     SidTim 21:39
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:24 CLST  23:24 UT   22:16  334 deg  
Eve. -10   21:02 CLST  00:02 UT   22:55  344 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:24 CLST  00:24 UT   23:16  349 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:46 CLST  00:46 UT   23:39  355 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   03:20   50 deg  
Moonset    02:11 CLST  05:11 UT   04:04   61 deg  
Morn -18   05:09 CLST  08:09 UT   07:01  105 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:31 CLST  08:31 UT   07:24  111 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:52 CLST  08:52 UT   07:45  116 deg  
Sunrise    06:31 CLST  09:31 UT   08:24  126 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 320.2, Dec -16.6 Phase: 0.490

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/15 00:02'     Local time = 21:02
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec, reverberation, Photosweeps, narrowband, additional script if any.
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/15 08:31'     Local time = 05:31
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

Priorities (highest to lowest)
1) Obstac
2) photosweep (if 1.6 < fwhm < 2.0)
3) narrowband (if fwhm > 2.0)

Other Notes