Project

General

Profile

11142017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58071 (starting evening of M, Nov 13, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Mandeep Gill (Run Mgr)
  • Kate Furnell (observer 1)
  • Reese Wilkinson (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Rodrigo Hernandez - Operator
  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support

Almanac

mjd 58072, date 20171114, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 01:51 CLST     UT 04:51     SidTim 03:45
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:24 CLST  23:24 UT   22:18  334 deg
Eve. -10   21:02 CLST  00:02 UT   22:56  344 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:24 CLST  00:24 UT   23:18  350 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:46 CLST  00:46 UT   23:40  355 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   03:21   50 deg
Morn -18   05:08 CLST  08:08 UT   07:02  106 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Moonrise   05:10 CLST  08:10 UT   07:03  106 deg
Morn -14   05:31 CLST  08:31 UT   07:24  111 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:52 CLST  08:52 UT   07:46  116 deg
Sunrise    06:31 CLST  09:31 UT   08:25  126 deg


	

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: supposed to be clear all night.
  • Temp: 11-13 celsius (roughly)

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • One equatorial (Stripe 82) field
  • ObsTac - will be almost all WF
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)
  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
UT Date = '2017/11/14 00:01'     Local time = 21:01
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.3
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/11/15 08:31'     Local time = 05:31
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

Last night

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps