Project

General

Profile

11142014

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56976 (starting evening of Nov 14, 2014)

Observers

  • Dominik Gangkofner (observer1)
  • Chris D'Andrea (observer2)
  • Ting Li (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado
  • Claudio Aguilera

Almanac

mjd 56976, date 20141114, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:12 CLST     UT 16:12     SidTim 15:05
Sunset     20:24 CLST  23:24 UT   SidTim  334 deg  
Eve. -10   21:02 CLST  00:02 UT   SidTim  344 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:24 CLST  00:24 UT   SidTim  349 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:46 CLST  00:46 UT   SidTim  355 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   SidTim   50 deg  
Moonrise   02:25 CLST  05:25 UT   SidTim   64 deg  
Morn -18   05:09 CLST  08:09 UT   SidTim  105 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:31 CLST  08:31 UT   SidTim  111 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:52 CLST  08:52 UT   SidTim  116 deg  
Sunrise    06:31 CLST  09:31 UT   SidTim  126 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 150.2, Dec 8.6 Phase: 0.459

Weather Conditions

Clear in the afternoon. High wind. ~12.2 mph

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations
  2. Standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/15 00:02'     Local time = 21:02
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/15 08:31'     Local time = 05:31
    E5-A                  ra 12:04:11  dec -45:24:03  secz 1.8
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.6
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  5. End of night calibration
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json