Project

General

Profile

11132017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58071 (starting evening of M, Nov 13, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Mandeep Gill (Run Mgr)
  • Kate Furnell (observer 1)
  • Reese Wilkinson (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Rodrigo Hernandez - Operator
  • Manuel Hernández - Obs. Support

Almanac

mjd 58071, date 20171113, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 21:47 CLST     UT 00:47     SidTim 23:37
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:23 CLST  23:23 UT   22:13  333 deg
Eve. -10   21:01 CLST  00:01 UT   22:51  343 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:23 CLST  00:23 UT   23:13  348 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:45 CLST  00:45 UT   23:35  354 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   03:17   49 deg
Moonrise   04:35 CLST  07:35 UT   06:25   96 deg
Morn -18   05:09 CLST  08:09 UT   06:59  105 deg  Begin astronomical
twilight
Morn -14   05:31 CLST  08:31 UT   07:21  110 deg  End obstac; begin
standards
Morn -10   05:53 CLST  08:53 UT   07:43  116 deg
Sunrise    06:31 CLST  09:31 UT   08:21  125 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 184.4, Dec 2.5 Phase: 0.267


	

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: supposed to be clear all night.
  • Temp: 11-13 celsius (roughly)

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • One white dwarf fields (LDS749B)
  • ObsTac - because almost all SN are on 7-day Deadman, that's what it will observe all night
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)
  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
UT Date = '2017/11/13 00:01'     Local time = 21:01
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/11/14 08:31'     Local time = 05:31
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

A week ago

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps