Project

General

Profile

11132014

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56975 (starting evening of Nov 13, 2014)

Observers

  • Dominik Gangkofner (observer1)
  • Chris D'Andrea (observer2)
  • Ting Li (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado
  • Claudio Aguilera

Almanac

mjd 56975, date 20141113, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:48 CLST     UT 17:48     SidTim 16:37
Sunset     20:23 CLST  23:23 UT   SidTim  333 deg  
Eve. -10   21:01 CLST  00:01 UT   SidTim  342 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:23 CLST  00:23 UT   SidTim  348 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:45 CLST  00:45 UT   SidTim  353 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   SidTim   49 deg  
Moonrise   01:50 CLST  04:50 UT   SidTim   55 deg  
Morn -18   05:09 CLST  08:09 UT   SidTim  104 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:32 CLST  08:32 UT   SidTim  110 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:53 CLST  08:53 UT   SidTim  116 deg  
Sunrise    06:31 CLST  09:31 UT   SidTim  125 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 138.7, Dec 11.8 Phase: 0.517

Weather Conditions

Clear in the afternoon.High wind (~9.1mph)

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations
  2. Standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/14 00:01'     Local time = 21:01
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/14 08:32'     Local time = 05:32
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.5
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.2
    
  5. End of night calibration
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json