Project

General

Profile

11122014

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56974 (starting evening of Nov 12, 2014)

Observers

  • Chris D'Andrea (observer1)
  • Dominik Gangkofner (observer2)
  • Ting Li (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado
  • Alberto Alvarez

Almanac

mjd 56974, date 20141112, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:54 CLST     UT 16:54     SidTim 15:39
Sunset     20:22 CLST  23:22 UT   SidTim  332 deg  
Eve. -10   21:00 CLST  00:00 UT   SidTim  341 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:21 CLST  00:21 UT   SidTim  346 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:44 CLST  00:44 UT   SidTim  352 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   01:12 CLST  04:12 UT   SidTim   44 deg  
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   SidTim   48 deg  
Morn -18   05:10 CLST  08:10 UT   SidTim  104 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:32 CLST  08:32 UT   SidTim  109 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:54 CLST  08:54 UT   SidTim  114 deg  
Sunrise    06:32 CLST  09:32 UT   SidTim  124 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 126.8, Dec 14.7 Phase: 0.577

Weather Conditions
Clear in the afternoon.Good weather!

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations
  2. Standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/13 00:00'     Local time = 21:00
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/13 08:32'     Local time = 05:32
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.5
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.2
    
  5. End of night calibration
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json