Project

General

Profile

11112014

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56973 (starting evening of Nov 11, 2014)

Observers

  • Chris D'Andrea (observer1)
  • Dominik Gangkofner (observer2)
  • Ting Li (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado
  • Alberto Alvarez

Almanac

mjd 56973, date 20141111, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:31 CLST     UT 15:31     SidTim 14:12
Sunset     20:21 CLST  23:21 UT   SidTim  330 deg  
Eve. -10   20:59 CLST  23:59 UT   SidTim  340 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:20 CLST  00:20 UT   SidTim  345 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:42 CLST  00:42 UT   SidTim  351 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   00:31 CLST  03:31 UT   SidTim   33 deg  
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   SidTim   47 deg  
Morn -18   05:11 CLST  08:11 UT   SidTim  103 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:33 CLST  08:33 UT   SidTim  108 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:54 CLST  08:54 UT   SidTim  114 deg  
Sunrise    06:33 CLST  09:33 UT   SidTim  123 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 114.4, Dec 16.9 Phase: 0.639

Weather Conditions

pretty cloudy in the afternoon. only 10% of the sky is blue.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

If the sky clears up:

  1. Afternoon calibrations
  2. Standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/11 23:59'     Local time = 20:59
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards
    UT Date = '2014/11/12 08:33'     Local time = 05:33
    SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  5. End of night calibration
    • if good afternoon calibrations use DECam/postnight_zeros.json
    • otherwise use DECam/postnight_zeros_flats.json

Otherwise, DECal(?)