Project

General

Profile

11112013

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56608 (starting evening of Nov 11, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Matt Wiesner Liz Buckley-Geer Marisa March
ext. 515 ext. 512 ext. 516 or 630 338 9267

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Hernan Tirado Leonardo Paredes

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56608, date 20131111, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:44 CLST     UT 15:44     SidTim 14:26
Sunset     20:21 CLST  23:21 UT   SidTim  331 deg  
Eve. -10   21:00 CLST  00:00 UT   SidTim  340 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:21 CLST  00:21 UT   SidTim  346 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:43 CLST  00:43 UT   SidTim  351 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   SidTim   47 deg  
Moonset    03:21 CLST  06:21 UT   SidTim   76 deg  
Morn -18   05:11 CLST  08:11 UT   SidTim  103 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:33 CLST  08:33 UT   SidTim  109 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:54 CLST  08:54 UT   SidTim  114 deg  
Sunrise    06:32 CLST  09:32 UT   SidTim  123 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 343.6, Dec -1.6 Phase: 0.637

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links .

http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Clear

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Start of night standards
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards
  5. End of night calibrations

Start of Night Standards
UT Date = '2013/11/12 00:00' Local time = 21:00
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.8 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0200_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0100_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ2140-0000 ra 21:40:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 script to use: DES_std_sdssj2140_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards
UT Date = '2013/11/12 08:33' Local time = 05:33
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.9 script to use: DES_std_sdssj1048_grizY.json
SDSSJ0958-0010 ra 09:58:00 dec -00:10:00 secz 1.5 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0958_grizY.json
SDSSJ0843-0000 ra 08:43:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0843_grizY.json

Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments:

Run Manager's Meeting Nov. 10, 2013
-----------------------------------
Diehl, March, Wiesner, Manuel, Hernan, Kent, Margaret, and Robert
Ricardo, Josh

Camera and Telescope
--------------------
All OK. Restarted sispi w/o problems. On the white spot, ready to begin calibs.

Last Night's Data
-----------------
Liz saw 4 condors yesterday afternoon after it cleared up.

Evening started with snow and sleet. Couldn't do calibrations until
7:30 PM, SS were about 10 minutes late, setting back the start of observing
by 9 minutes. Probably if it were any later they should have skipped dome flats
and simply done those in the morning.

Obstac has worked smoothly.

Seeing started at 2" and got better all night. SN at first and WF by the
end of the evening. 1" seeing at the end. Happy to get anything at all.

DESDM
-----
M. believes they got all the data. Processing not started.

We are hoping to apply the filter-dependent DQ cuts independent of the transparency
because the filter-dependent stuff is ready to go. But there might be a problem
because if the catalog-matching stuff that performs the transparency fails, then
the data would be bad.

-> Margaret et al. keeps doing DQ as before until the new code is checked.

There was a question in SN telecon today. On 11/9 there was crap SN data because of
poor seeing. This isn't propogated in the DQ code. Steve K. will check the seeing
projected-to-i-band-projected-to-zenith is worse than 2" using kentools. If so
we'll declare exposures bad for the short exposures invoking the ad-hoc protocal
available to OPs. We'll look at the dep exposures on an exposure to exposure basis.
No SN field is at more than 4 days latency at this time.

-> Plan to enter this SN DQ for tomorrow night with Eric's help.

For Tonight
-----------
Clear conditions. Let's hope for good seeing.
Probably WF if the conditions are good-enough with early Moon.

AOB
---
None.