Project

General

Profile

11102013

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56607 (starting evening of Nov 10, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Yuanyuan Zhang Liz Buckley-Geer Marisa March
ext. 514 ext. 512 ext. 516 or 630 338 9267

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Alberto Alvarez Leonardo Paredes

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56607, date 20131110, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:47 CLST     UT 15:47     SidTim 14:25
Sunset     20:20 CLST  23:20 UT   SidTim  330 deg  
Eve. -10   20:59 CLST  23:59 UT   SidTim  339 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:20 CLST  00:20 UT   SidTim  344 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:42 CLST  00:42 UT   SidTim  350 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   SidTim   46 deg  
Moonset    02:43 CLST  05:43 UT   SidTim   65 deg  
Morn -18   05:12 CLST  08:12 UT   SidTim  102 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:34 CLST  08:34 UT   SidTim  108 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:55 CLST  08:55 UT   SidTim  113 deg  
Sunrise    06:33 CLST  09:33 UT   SidTim  123 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 330.5, Dec -6.1 Phase: 0.569

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links .

http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Cloudy skies (8/8) as of 1200 local. Cloud may clear by early morning - see satellite image.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Start of night standards
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards
  5. End of night calibrations

Start of Night Standards
UT Date = '2013/11/10 23:59' Local time = 20:59
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.8 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0200_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0100_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ2300-0000 ra 23:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 script to use: DES_std_sdssj2300_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards
UT Date = '2013/11/11 08:34' Local time = 05:34
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.9 script to use: DES_std_sdssj1048_grizY.json
SDSSJ0958-0010 ra 09:58:00 dec -00:10:00 secz 1.5 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0958_grizY.json
MaxVis ra 06:30:00 dec -58:45:00 secz 1.1 script to use: DES_std_maxvis_grizY.json

Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments: