Project

General

Profile

11092017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58067 (starting evening of Th, Nov 9, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Mandeep Gill (Run Mgr)
  • Brian Yanny (observer 1)
  • Marty Murphy (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support

Almanac

mjd 58067, date 20171109, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 05:36 CLST     UT 08:36     SidTim 07:10
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:19 CLST  23:19 UT   21:54  328 deg
Eve. -10   20:58 CLST  23:58 UT   22:32  338 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:19 CLST  00:19 UT   22:53  343 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:40 CLST  00:40 UT   23:15  349 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   03:01   45 deg
Moonrise   01:54 CLST  04:54 UT   03:28   52 deg
Morn -18   05:13 CLST  08:13 UT   06:47  102 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:34 CLST  08:34 UT   07:09  107 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:56 CLST  08:56 UT   07:30  112 deg
Sunrise    06:34 CLST  09:34 UT   08:08  122 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 132.4, Dec 17.5 Phase: 0.534


	

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: supposed to be clear all night.
  • Temp: 6-10 celsius (roughly)

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • White dwarf fields
  • IceCube ToO
  • Stripe 82 special obs
  • ObsTac - wide field
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)
  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
UT Date = '2017/11/09 23:58'     Local time = 20:58
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/11/10 08:34'     Local time = 05:34
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.6
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

C3g planned for tonite -- last ones we saw were Mon Nov 6 nite.

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps