Project

General

Profile

11092013

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56606 (starting evening of Nov 09, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Yuanyuan Zhang Liz Buckley-Geer Marisa March
ext. 514 ext. 512 ext. 516 or 630 338 9267

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Alberto Alvarez Leonardo Paredes

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56606, date 20131109, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:25 CLST     UT 16:25     SidTim 14:59
Sunset     20:19 CLST  23:19 UT   SidTim  328 deg  
Eve. -10   20:58 CLST  23:58 UT   SidTim  338 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:19 CLST  00:19 UT   SidTim  343 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:40 CLST  00:40 UT   SidTim  348 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:27 CLST  04:27 UT   SidTim   45 deg  
Moonset    02:02 CLST  05:02 UT   SidTim   54 deg  
Morn -18   05:13 CLST  08:13 UT   SidTim  102 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:35 CLST  08:35 UT   SidTim  107 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:56 CLST  08:56 UT   SidTim  112 deg  
Sunrise    06:34 CLST  09:34 UT   SidTim  122 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 317.1, Dec -10.3 Phase: 0.499

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links .

http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Clear skies now. Low, W. of Santiago moving slowly NE. anticipate some cloud tomorrow morning - see satellite image.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations script to use: prenight_calibration.json
  2. Start of night standards
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards
  5. End of night calibrations

Start of Night Standards
UT Date = '2013/11/09 23:58' Local time = 20:58
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.9 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0200_Yzirg.json ENSURE WINDSCREEN LOWERED
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.4 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0100_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ2300-0000 ra 23:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 script to use: DES_std_sdssj2300_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards
UT Date = '2013/11/10 08:35' Local time = 05:35
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.0 script to use: DES_std_sdssj1048_grizY.json ENSURE WINDSCREEN LOWERED
SDSSJ0958-0010 ra 09:58:00 dec -00:10:00 secz 1.5 script to use: DES_std_sdssj0958_grizY.json
MaxVis ra 06:30:00 dec -58:45:00 secz 1.1 script to use: DES_std_maxvis_grizY.json

Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments:

Run manager's Meeting Nov. 09, 2013
-----------------------------------
Eric, Marisa, Tom, Alberto, Don, maybe others

Telescope and Camera
--------------------
The telescope is OK. On white spot. A tour is coming through right now.
After they do, calibs.
During the morning, more pumping on the LN2 lines. This
time on the LN2 return line.

Last Night's Data (Marisa)
--------------------------
WF but the seeing was not quite as good as the past couple nights.
All of Eric's Obstac changes worked as expected.

Checks of data when dome minus telescope > 6 degrees. The alarm
is going off a bit before the exposure starts, but by the time the
exposure is taken the dome readback seems to indicate that it is caught up.
No significant occlusions seen on the donut images.
Displays on the observer2 machine seem to be very slow. Will complain to TELOPS.

DESDM
------
Assessments in hand this morning for 11/5 and 11/6.

On next Friday DESDM is going to physically move
the systems that catch data. So you want to make sure the data gets
to NCSA as fast as possible on next Friday.

Tonight
-------
Weather is looking OK.

Obstac is predicted to do tiling 1 and 3 in z-band, mostly.

Probably no meeting tomorrow. Check in the morning.
Possibility for SN to occur tomorrow night depending on the seeing.