Project

General

Profile

11082018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58431 (starting evening of Nov 8, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Yuanyuan Zhang (Run Manager)
  • Joe Derose (observer 1)
  • Matt Kirby (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58431, date 20181108, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 05:59 CLST     UT 08:59     SidTim 07:29
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:18 CLST  23:18 UT   21:48  327 deg
Eve. -10   20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   22:26  336 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Moonset    21:16 CLST  00:16 UT   22:45  341 deg
Eve. -14   21:17 CLST  00:17 UT   22:47  342 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:39 CLST  00:39 UT   23:08  347 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:26 CLST  04:26 UT   02:56   44 deg
Morn -18   05:14 CLST  08:14 UT   06:43  101 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:36 CLST  08:36 UT   07:05  106 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:56 CLST  08:56 UT   07:26  112 deg
Sunrise    06:34 CLST  09:34 UT   08:04  121 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 243.6, Dec -16.4 Phase: 0.092

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/08 23:56'     Local time = 20:56
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec, reverberation, Photosweeps, narrowband, additional script if any.
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/09 08:36'     Local time = 05:36
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
    SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.6
    MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

Priorities (highest to lowest)

Other Notes