Project

General

Profile

11082017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58066 (starting evening of Wed, Nov 8, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Mandeep Gill (Run Mgr)
  • Brian Yanny (observer 1)
  • Marty Murphy (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support

Almanac

jd 58066, date 20171108, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 05:17 CLST     UT 08:17     SidTim 06:47
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:19 CLST  23:19 UT   21:49  327 deg
Eve. -10   20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   22:27  337 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:18 CLST  00:18 UT   22:48  342 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:39 CLST  00:39 UT   23:09  347 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   01:02 CLST  04:02 UT   02:33   38 deg
Midpoint   01:26 CLST  04:26 UT   02:57   44 deg
Morn -18   05:14 CLST  08:14 UT   06:44  101 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:35 CLST  08:35 UT   07:05  106 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:56 CLST  08:56 UT   07:26  112 deg
Sunrise    06:34 CLST  09:34 UT   08:04  121 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 117.7, Dec 19.6 Phase: 0.609


	

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: supposed to be clear all night.
  • Temp: 6-10 celsius (roughly)

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • ObsTac - wide field
  • low-z SN obs - manual script (5 mins before -14, obstac(SN) > low-z SN > morning stds)
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)
  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
UT Date = '2017/11/08 20:57'     Local time = 17:57
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.0
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2017/11/09 05:56'     Local time = 02:56
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

Mon night Nov 6, 2017, none planned for tonite.

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps