Project

General

Profile

11072018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58430 (starting evening of Nov7, 2018)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Yuanyuan Zhang (Run Manager)
  • Matt Kirby (observer 1)
  • Joe Derose (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

from kentools ephem

mjd 58430, date 20181107, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 05:41 CLST     UT 08:41     SidTim 07:06
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:18 CLST  23:18 UT   21:43  326 deg
Eve. -10   20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   22:21  335 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:16 CLST  00:16 UT   22:42  340 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:38 CLST  00:38 UT   23:03  346 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:26 CLST  04:26 UT   02:52   43 deg
Morn -18   05:15 CLST  08:15 UT   06:40  100 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:36 CLST  08:36 UT   07:02  106 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:57 CLST  08:57 UT   07:23  111 deg
Sunrise    06:35 CLST  09:35 UT   08:00  120 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 230.7, Dec -13.1 Phase: 0.026

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES full night
  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2018/11/07 23:55'     Local time = 20:55
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    
  • Obstac, reverberation, Photosweeps, narrowband
  • Morning standards
UT Date = '2018/11/08 08:36'     Local time = 05:36
SDSSJ1048-0000        ra 10:48:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ0958-0010        ra 09:58:00  dec -00:10:00  secz 1.6
MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.1

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

Priorities (highest to lowest)

Other Notes