Project

General

Profile

11072017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58065 (starting evening of Tue, Nov 7, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Mandeep Gill (Run Mgr)
  • Marty Murphy (observer 1)
  • Brian Yanny (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Alberto Alvarez - Operator
  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support

Almanac

mjd 58065, date 20171107, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 05:10 CLST     UT 08:10     SidTim 06:36
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     20:18 CLST  23:18 UT   21:44  326 deg
Eve. -10   20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   22:22  336 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:17 CLST  00:17 UT   22:43  341 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:38 CLST  00:38 UT   23:04  346 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   00:05 CLST  03:05 UT   01:31   23 deg
Midpoint   01:26 CLST  04:26 UT   02:53   43 deg
Morn -18   05:15 CLST  08:15 UT   06:41  100 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   05:36 CLST  08:36 UT   07:02  106 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:57 CLST  08:57 UT   07:23  111 deg
Sunrise    06:35 CLST  09:35 UT   08:01  120 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 102.3, Dec 20.5 Phase: 0.688


	

Weather Conditions

as predicted by hourly forecast

  • clouds: clear first part of night, then full overcast rest of night.
  • Temp: 6-10 celsius (roughly)

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
  • Second followup on neutrino ToO
  • ObsTac - wide field
  • low-z SN obs - manual script (5 mins before -14, obstac(SN) > low-z SN > morning stds)
  • Morning standards (ugrizY)
  • Evening standards (Yzirgu)
Do all 3 (as given by calspec)  
  • Morning standards
Do all 3 (as given by calspec)  

When were the last SN fields observed?

forgotten how to do this? Instructions here

None planned

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps