Project

General

Profile

11072013

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56604 (starting evening of Nov 07, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Yuanyuan Zhang Liz Buckley-Geer Marisa March

CTIO staff (Telescope Operators)

Day Support Night Assistant
Alberto Alvarez Leonardo Paredes

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56604, date 20131107, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 09:00 CLST     UT 12:00     SidTim 10:26
Sunset     20:18 CLST  23:18 UT   SidTim  326 deg  
Eve. -10   20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   SidTim  336 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   21:17 CLST  00:17 UT   SidTim  341 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   21:38 CLST  00:38 UT   SidTim  346 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    00:29 CLST  03:29 UT   SidTim   29 deg  
Midpoint   01:26 CLST  04:26 UT   SidTim   43 deg  
Morn -18   05:15 CLST  08:15 UT   SidTim  100 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:36 CLST  08:36 UT   SidTim  106 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   05:57 CLST  08:57 UT   SidTim  111 deg  
Sunrise    06:35 CLST  09:35 UT   SidTim  120 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 288.6, Dec -16.6 Phase: 0.348

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links .

http://www.meteochile.gob.cl/cna/irsat_alta.png

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  1. Afternoon calibrations script to use: pre_night_calibration.json
  2. Start of night standards
  3. ObsTac
  4. End of night standards
  5. End of night calibrations

Start of Night Standards
UT Date = '2013/11/07 23:56' Local time = 20:56
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.0 use script DES_std_sdssj0200_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.5 use script DES_std_sdssj0100_Yzirg.json
SDSSJ2300-0000 ra 23:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2 use script DES_std_sdssj2300_Yzirg.json

End of Night Standards
UT Date = '2013/11/08 08:36' Local time = 05:36
SDSSJ1048-0000 ra 10:48:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.1 use script DES_std_sdssj1048_grizY.json
SDSSJ0958-0010 ra 09:58:00 dec -00:10:00 secz 1.6 use script DES_std_sdssj0958_grizY.json
MaxVis ra 06:30:00 dec -58:45:00 secz 1.1 use script DES_std_maxvis_grizY.json

Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments: